The romantics of the morning Kathmandu

My city has been currently gripped up in some cold chilly winter temperature. Although it is not as bad as which I used to experience during my childhood, but enough to challenge the self pride of every early risers in the town. Moreover the early morning power cuts seem be the prized bonus of the chill outside which manipulates the biological clock into thinking that it just past midnight.

With the work cut out for the poor and laborious emergency lights the city wakes up just a bit late. The laziness creeps in just a bit more as alarm clocks go off wishing its owner a very good morning. But for the poor alarm instead of getting a gentle tap of appreciation for the wake up call gets a harsh smash and in case of mobile phone alarm the deadline gets extended with snooze time.

The warmth inside the quilt has no comparisons with the mother’s lap but I guess cold temperatures outside a wet window pane compels me rethink both these emotions of warmth. The quilt has no emotions but as she protects me from the biting cold I begin to appreciate her love for me.

Metaphorically the cold outside stands up for all those hindrances in one’s life that sometime seems almost impossible to conquer within. But the cold outside keeps me vigilant instead against that entire passiveness, restless and hopeless in life. The conscious decision to come out of the enticing warmth embodies within it the willingness to overcome all barriers as I wake up to a testing chilliness and set out work in yet another knowledgeable day at work.

As I travel to my radio station at six in the morning the challenge of the biting cold will have reached new heights every passing day. At that hour of the days sun seems to be late for work as well. But the low temperatures of the morning hours also come with some graceful sites. The ladies in the boots, fancy jackets, coats, white colored air plugs, colorful mufflers, cross bags and the scooter are some usual sites of the morning Kathmandu. The ladies in the boot and coat very much resemble an empowered London girl that is I had written a few days back commenting on my colleague’ picture in a social networking website and true they are. The freshness in the faces is worth a look as it all makes up for a beautiful morning. Although they look humble in their first sight but when I trying thinking about it later I always think all those inspiring faces not only circulate a wave of  positivism but also shuttle boast of their beauty as if telling me , “ you don’t have to stare like that I know I look beautiful.”

Moreover morning shift college students also have continued battle against the cold. But the college couples seem to love the morning cold as they pass by me with their arms entangled around each other by their side may be the cold provides a strong reason for the new found intimacy.

 But lucky them and luck me that at least I have every reason to talk about their impounding fashion rather than old rhetorical stories of gender discrimination. Their pin point high heel shows may just be mere fashion statement but to me they are the sounds of joy, of victory, of hope and of belief that things are changing and they have changed. Let the freedom sound to its loudest at least I don’t mind.

5 thoughts on “The romantics of the morning Kathmandu

  1. Stunning post about surviving the cold weather day by day.,specially the poor.It reminded me of my years In chicago.Have a great new year..Thank you for liking my post.jalal

Leave a Reply

